Posted by: pollyw | September 24, 2010

Better than a bodyguard

I am reading a book about worship right now written by Louie Giglio called Wired for Worship.  It’s actually two books in one.  The first side is mostly text, and when you flip the book over, the second part is a Bible study of sorts called 30 Day Worship Journey

What he does in the Bible study part of the book is pretty cool.  He has you read through a Psalm and he has certain words underlined that point to God’s character.  For example, in the part I read today he has Psalm 3 printed out.  In verse 3 it says this (courtesy of Biblegateway.com):

3 But you are a shield around me, O LORD;
       you bestow glory on me and lift [a] up my head.

The word “shield” is underlined and out to the side is written “defender”.  

“Around me” is underlined and the word “surrounding” is written out to the side. 

“Lift up my head” is underlined and “hope” is written out to the side. 

I often think of God as my defender, and I love the idea that He is surrounding me on all sides as my defender:  physically, emotionally, spiritually, and in all directions.  This psalm points out that with that defending He does, there is also an  element of hope, safety, and victory that comes when He lifts up my head in the middle of it all. 

Instead of letting me just cower as the victim when He is defending me, God in His graciousness, reaches down and lifts up my chin to see how He is working in the middle of a situation.  He gives me hope and victory when times are tough.  He doesn’t just say, “Don’t worry your pretty little head about it, I’ll save you.”  No, He is all about relationship, so it’s more like He is saying, “My child, look up, see this amazing thing that is happening as I am defending you.  Be a part of it.”

I don’t know about you, but I think that is pretty cool.

Leave a comment and let me know how this verse fits into your life, I’d love to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

