Posted by: pollyw | April 6, 2010

Hi ho, hi ho…

Work.  Even the word sounds like no fun.   Work.  It kind of rolls off the tongue and lands like a thud right at your feet. 

Well, there are two very interesting verses in Ecclesiastes that talk about work, and not just the action of it, but our attitude while doing it.  I find these verses rather convicting  in some areas of my life.  Here, read them for yourself:  Ecclesiastes 3:13 and 3:22.

13 That everyone may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all his toil—this is the gift of God.

22 So I saw that there is nothing better for a man than to enjoy his work, because that is his lot. For who can bring him to see what will happen after him?

What does verse 13 say is a gift of God? _______________________________________________________________

What does verse 22 say there is nothing better than? ________________________________________________________________

In the light of these verses, I started thinking about my “jobs” and trying to think about if I was really enjoying them, or just enduring some of them. So, my question for you is: what are your jobs right now? (Ex: Work, Mom, Wife, chef, student, daughter, son, Dad, etc.) ____________________________________________________________________

What do you enjoy the most about each of these jobs? Think about each one individually. ______________________________________________________________ ______________________________________________________________ 

What do you enjoy the least about each of these jobs? Again, think about each one individually. ____________________________________________________________________ ____________________________________________________________________

I imagine most of you out there have dealt with little children at one time or another. Didn’t you end up getting really creative when it came to convincing them to do jobs they didn’t want to do (usually by making them fun)? Now, take that same gift you developed with them and apply it to your jobs.

Can you think of one way to change how you are approaching one of the items in the “enjoy least” column to move it over to the “enjoy most” column? Ask the Lord to help you and to make the answer obvious to you. ____________________________________________________________________ ____________________________________________________________________ ____________________________________________________________________

I am really hoping that you aren’t looking at this as another thing to add to your already very long list of things to do. This is about the fact that we were created by a Creator Who loves to enjoy and delight in things.

He is a God of hope, and with that hope, peace and enjoyment are revealed. He delights in His children and in His creation all throughout His Word.

Being a follower of Christ is about letting God’s glory shine through us.  A good way to do that is by asking Him to help us to enjoy the work that He has given to us.

Believe me when I say that I am needing to apply this to my life right alongside everyone else…

When you get a chance, leave a comment and let us know how it is working for you this week.

Responses

  1. God has so blessed me with my current job! I’m teaching subjects that I love in an environment that is way less stressful than those in which I’ve taught before to students who actually either don’t mind or enjoy learning. It’s the other jobs I have that I’m going to study up on and ask God to change my heart about the least enjoyable aspect. Thanks for bringing this to my attention, Lord, through Polly! Thank You for the blessing of work and the opportunity to do it for You, which brings meaning to the most mundane of jobs.

    Like

    • Paulina — Thanks for sharing your experiences with all of us!

      Like

  2. Hi Polly, Catching up. Thanks for this reminder of God’s word, character, and desire for each of us in our work! Some adjustments to be made in some aspects of my work work situation and attitude. What a wonderful blessing you and this reminder are!

    Like

    • Adjusting my attitude seems to be a daily thing sometimes. So great to hear from you, Dave!

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

