Posted by: pollyw | January 25, 2010

He delights in you (and me!)

When I am reading the Bible, I find myself very drawn to the verses that talk about how God protects me. 

I love the verses that refer to Him as my rock, my fortress, my deliverer, my shield… 

You would think I was in a foxhole somewhere under constant gunfire for how I search out these verses.

But today, I was reminded of something really neat when I was looking through the Psalms.  It’s in Psalm 18:19 when David was talking about how the Lord had saved him from his enemies.  Take a look at it:

 19 He brought me out into a spacious place; 
       He rescued me because He delighted in me.

It didn’t say, “He rescued me because He had to”  or “He rescued me because it’s His job”. 

It says He rescued me because He delighted in me.  How cool is that?  

It is so easy to always think that He is just putting up with us and our constant failings.  I mean, it can almost become a habit to think that He is in heaven saying, “Well, there they go again, messing it all up” 

How different would your day be if you could realize that He doesn’t just put up with you (or me) and He’s not sitting around grading us all the time.

He actually delights in you!  He knows us inside and out and still delights in us!

I don’t know about you but that brings a real smile to my face and makes me want to hang out with Him more.   What do you think?

Responses

  1. exactly what i needed to hear-i’m so glad you’re doing this blog-keep them coming 🙂

    Like

    • Yay! I’m glad it’s helping!

      Like

  2. I think it’s pretty awesome how when we think of this, we realize that God wants only the very best for us. It’s nice to rest assured in that feeling.

    Like

    • That’s true, Lisa. Sometimes it’s hard for me to remember to rest in that feeling.

      Like

  3. Hi sweetie. This is great to remember. It’s easy to think how often we disappoint him. If we could instead consider how much we delight in our own children and know how much more that delight is perfected in God with us.

    Like

    • (You know when you bring our kids into it, it’s going to make me cry!) It’s true, we can’t even imagine how much more He delights in us.

      Like

  4. YEAAA! Similar to Zephaniah 3:17….amazing God!

    Like

    • Hey Becky! Thanks for coming to visit…how is everyone there?

      It’s true, we have an amazing God!

      Like

  5. It is such an honor that God delights in us. A particular song comes to mind by Casting Crowns, Life song. “May the words I say, and the things I do make my life song sing, bring a smile to you, Let my life song sing to you. I want to sign your name at the end of this day knowing that my heart was true” I think of this song often during the day hoping that my life song at that moment is bringing a smile to God, because He delights in me always it makes me want to please Him more.

    Like

    • Hey Leslie,

      What great words to that song! I especially like the part that talks about signing His name at the end of the day…a very cool concept.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  6. Polly, just skimming a couple of these after our conversation today. LOVED this one . . .when I moved to Denver after FL, I hated the topography!! Hated it! I remember thinking, “where ARE the trees?” After a few painful years in FL (BAD relationship . . I think I told you about that one), one day the Lord spoke to me as I was driving along on my way to see a home health patient .. .He said “I brought you into this spacious place, I rescued you because I delighted in you.” The very SPACE I did not want, He used to heal me . . .funny how He spoke to me through the land there . . . and how precious to be reminded that we are precious to HIM, our Creator, our Saviour, our Redeemer . . .thanks for that reminder . . .love you! A

    Like

    • I love it! He spoke to you through the land you couldn’t stand.

      I’m so glad you came to visit the blog and thanks for helping me out on the phone today!!

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

