Posted by: pollyw | May 21, 2011

The lost shall be found — literally

It seems as though I start every post lately by saying, “Well, I haven’t written in a long time and here’s why…”

I realized the other day, though, that it is okay to not be consistently writing when there is a new baby in the house.

My Bible reading times are much shorter lately, but my talking to the Lord is much longer (as in all day — “Please, Lord, I need your strength right now, I’m working on very little sleep”)

I’m catching the Lord’s lessons on the fly lately.  One of them happened the other day.  I was walking to the elementary school to see one of our kiddos at field day.  I was pushing the double stroller, filled to the brim with stuff and kids, as usual.  I went to the field day, then walked to the preschool to pick up our preschooler and headed home.  Fed both of them lunch, got them down for naps, and as I was just about to collapse on the couch, there was a knocking at the door.  I was thinking it was a salesman and waved through the window that I couldn’t answer the door.

Turned out, it was an appointment that the Lord had set up for me.  You see, on my way to the field day that morning at around 9:30 AM or so, my purse had fallen out of the double stroller.  I hadn’t even realized it.  This nice man standing at my door found it on the sidewalk of his very busy street at around 10:00 AM.  He had been trying to return it since that time.  It was now 1:00 PM.

Instantly, I knew the Lord had been protecting me all day and I hadn’t even realized it.  I am convinced that He covered up that purse with His hands for that 30 minutes until this man came along.  This man was hand-picked by the Lord to find my purse because he was obviously an honest guy who would work hard to track me down.  (He even saw my asthma inhaler in there and kept stopping by the house to make sure to get the medicine back to me as soon as possible.)

I think the Lord just wanted me to feel His protection in a very real way that day, not just know it in my head.  Well, it worked!

I pass by that house every time I am walking the kids to school and it reminds me of the Lord’s provision for me, even when I don’t know that I need it (as in a purse that is missing but not missed yet).  As a bonus, the Lord has brought these really nice people into my life, and I say a prayer for them when we go by their house.

The Lord is amazing and I love it when He gives me a glimpse of His love for me in my everyday life.

His verses of protection are my favorite when I read the Bible and this reminds me of so many of them.  Does a verse come to mind when you read this story?  Leave me a comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Responses

  1. That was amazing! It reminds us that there is still hope in the Lord.

    • I love it when you read my blog, thanks for the comment! (That’s my husband!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

