Posted by: pollyw | March 4, 2011

Raising the Next Generation

I know I have been gone for a while, and boy does it feel good to be back.  Most of you who know me, know why I haven’t been writing lately, but for those of you not in my immediate vicinity, I’ll give you the short version. 

Basically, we had a new addition to our family this year…a little boy.  Adorable, lots of hair, and very easy-going, which is a very good thing because there was  a lot of drama involved around his birth.  It started out with bedrest for me a few weeks before he was born, and ended with 8 days in a hospital with 2 surgeries to clear up some pretty aggressive pneumonia I developed along the way.  Thankfully, the baby was fine, and the Lord sent tons of family and friends to take care of my crew while I was gone (and gave me an amazing husband to coordinate it all).  I also made it home in time for Christmas, which was really great!

So, speaking of the next generation at our house, I am having a great time  “talking Bible” with my oldest lately.  We just gave him his first official Bible (he had a storybook one before) with the numbers and verses.

It is so neat to hear him retell the Bible stories as he is reading them.  We talk about the basic story and then look for ways he can incorporate it into his day.

For me, it has been so great to see the Bible from his perspective.  I know I talked about this before in another post, but it is so refreshing to get a kid’s eye view of  the Bible.

And while we are on the subject: 

How amazing is it that God trusts these little impressionable ones to our care? 

And don’t you know He must just love it  when He hears us tell our little ones how a certain verse they are talking about was lived out in our lives  and how He made it come to life for us.

God thinks it is so important for our kids to know His Word that He mentions it twice in Deuteronomy alone (while talking about His commands to His people).

Deuteronomy 6:7

7 Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.

And then again in Deuteronomy 11:19

19 Teach them to your children, talking about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.

So, let’s get out there and talk to our kids about more than the latest Lego that is on the market or what chore they missed doing yesterday. 

Let’s build them up in the Word, leaning on the Lord to show them what He wants them to know today.

And let’s follow through by asking them to look for ways to fit that verse or story into their day.  And then ask them at the end of the day if they saw it worked out in real life.  (I have to admit, the asking at the end of the day is the part I usually miss out on.)  I think I’ll work on that this week.

No kids around your immediate vicinity? 

How about a friend or a spouse to talk about a certain Bible story with, and compare notes to see if you saw any connections to it during your day.

Leave me a comment when  you get a chance and let me know what God shows you this week! 

 I would love to hear what He is doing in your life.

Responses

  1. Hi Polly!

    What a scary time it has been for you and your family. But, God is good isn’t he? So pleased that He provided all that support for you and your family while you were unwell.

    Looking forward to reading what you learn from your quiet times again.

    Isn’t it a joy to see our children learning God’s word and desiring to follow Him?

    • Hi Julie!

      Great to hear from you again!

      You’re right, it was very scary. Nothing makes you appreciate your health and your family more than being really sick.

      I’m looking forward to writing again.

      And yes, I do love seeing a glimpse of His work in the childrens’ lives. It really makes my day!

      Thanks for stopping by!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

